SAH-Congress-Banner-2022
  • 00Days
  • 00Hours
  • 00Minutes
  • 00Seconds

General Information

cropped-heart_icon-1.png

Spring and Autumn 

In October, the weather in Johannesburg is usually warm. However, there are remarkable differences between night and day.

The average temperature is of 18.7 °C (66 °F), with a minimum of 11.4 °C (52.4 °F) and a maximum of 26 °C (78.7 °F).  On the coldest nights, which normally occur at the end of the month, the temperature usually drops to around 5 °C (40.5 °F). On the warmest days, which normally occur at the beginning of the month, the temperature usually reaches around 30.5 °C (87.5 °F).

Time Difference

South Africa is GMT+2 (2 hours ahead of Greenwich Mean Time).

Example: 12h00 midday in South Africa, is:

  • 06h00 in New York, USA
  • 11h00 in London, UK
  • 12h00 midday in Paris, France
  • 20h00 in Sydney, Australia

Tipping & Gratuities

A 10% gratuity on the bill generally applies in restaurants and is normally at the discretion of the diner and dependent on the standard of service experienced. Restaurants usually do not include the tip in the bill unless the booking is for 10 or more people.

Safety & Security

Delegates are advised to take the usual safety precautions. Do not walk alone in quiet streets after dark. Use a taxi/uber at night and only those from a reputable company.  Check with your hotel concierge as to the safety of a specific area should you be unsure.  Do not attract attention by displaying expensive items such as cameras and expensive watches and jewellery when sightseeing. Make use of the hotel safety deposit box or your room safe to safeguard valuables and passports.

Drinking Water

South African tap water is completely safe to drink and quite palatable. Bottled water is also available from room service, restaurants and at retail outlets.

Electricity 

The electricity supply in South Africa is 220/230 volts AC 50Hz. Appliances of lesser voltage require a transformer (especially those with a heating element such as hairdryers).  Adapters are obtainable locally and, in most cases, available from your hotel concierge. Most hotel rooms have 110-volt outlets for electric shavers and small appliances.

Value Added Tax

Value added tax (VAT) is included in the price of most goods and services. Visitors are required to pay VAT on purchased goods. VAT refunds may be claimed at airports, harbour and custom offices on items taken out of the country when the total value exceeds R250.00. Customs officials will ask to see the items as well as their purchase slips when applying for a refund.

Smoking

Smoking is prohibited by law in public areas throughout South Africa, including airports, shopping malls and restaurants.  Most public spaces have specially designated smoking areas.

Currency

The monetary unit is the South African Rand (ZAR) and the international symbol is R. 

R1 = 100 cents. Currency is issued in denominations of notes of R200, R100, R50, R20, R10 and coins.

Please visit www.xe.com to convert your local currency.

About the Sandton Convention Centre

Sandton Convention Centre is the Premier Exhibition, Conference & Events Destination in Africa and South Africa’s leading event venue, offering prestigious multi-use event spaces and venues in the financial hub of Johannesburg. It is conveniently located in the vibrant business district of Sandton in northern Johannesburg and within easy reach of the Gautrain and O. R. Tambo International Airport. The Sandton Convention Centre (SCC) is flanked by a number of leading hotels, sophisticated shopping centres and entertainment complexes.

Scroll to Top